Are You Invested in Your Book?

I’m back, but not yet ready to write so just thought I would share this with you. Would be writers read and take note, it’s a bleak outlook but sadly holds much truth! The writing is the easiest part. There is no easy way to getting published and selling books.

A Writer's Path

by John Briggs

When you finish writing your book, few people will doubt you’re committed to your writing. You’ve spent months or years putting it on paper, and hopefully poured your heart into every word. If the work is personal enough, you’ve invested a great deal of yourself. If nothing else, you’ve invested your time and talent.

But now that it’s done, are you truly invested in making your book a success?

View original post 708 more words

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Brenda Davis Harsham
    Nov 13, 2017 @ 15:51:15

    I can confirm, it’s sure hard to get it published. I’ve been trying and trying with many mss. But I’m writing a new one, and trying again. Darn it. 🙂

    Reply

  2. julespaige
    Nov 13, 2017 @ 16:53:32

    Welcome home.
    I’m away, but should be home by the end of the week.

    I knew costs were involved. Maybe that’s why I’ve just stapled some pages together and given away copies. I’m not looking to be famous. I want to enjoy what I do.
    If I ever win the lottery – maybe I’d invest in my own publishing house! 🙂

    The gent forgot to mention that poetry is even a harder road to hoe unless you are famous already. And maybe even dead. And that is why I blog.

    Reply

    • Libby
      Nov 14, 2017 @ 16:00:13

      I’ve had a fab time and hope you have enjoyed your break too. My books haven’t cost as much as this article suggests, but then most of what I have done hasn’t needed such professional services. Selling them is the really hard part – but even those who are mainstream published these days have to invest a lot of time in marketing!

      Reply

  3. elaine patricia
    Nov 13, 2017 @ 18:19:35

    I write to share my thoughts in poetry. I self published a book off poetry which actually sold well via the grapevine but for me it will be self produced leaflets in future.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Site content copyright of Elizabeth Leaper (Libby).

Supporting the Printed Word

Read the Printed Word!
