Nearing Completion

A book nearing completion
is exciting and frightening.
I keep checking and checking.
When is enough enough?

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
The files for my new ‘Simply Elfje’ book are almost ready to submit for printing. I keep checking them and still find the odd problem. The latest? – ‘is’ instead of ‘in’, a simple thing so easy to miss and it makes me wonder how many others I have missed, so I check again!

I try to take comfort from the fact that even in main stream published books I often find mistakes, but it seems to me that in self-published books people are too ready to sneer and say it is obviously amateur whereas in a ‘professional’ book they are happy to overlook the fault. Then I remember an old friend once had a T-shirt that stated ‘Pobody’s Nerfect’! Eventually I have to accept I have done my best.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. julespaige
    Mar 31, 2017 @ 12:34:05

    Your book will be wonderful just because you are our friend and have done your best. Thank you for including some of us in your adventure!

    Reply

  2. M. Sakran
    Mar 31, 2017 @ 15:17:32

    Having experienced something quite similar, in finding new mistakes each time something is read, a suggestion might be to cut and paste the words into something where they will look different and be laid on differently on the page (or change the font and font size where they currently are). Read it in this new look to find errors. It will help correct the fact that your mind corrects mistakes in things you have read over and over in the same look.

    Reply

  3. elaine patricia
    Mar 31, 2017 @ 19:54:22

    I read mine backwards. Well the lines backwards. The end product was fine but I must have proof read 10 times. And still wondered.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Site content copyright of Elizabeth Leaper (Libby).

Supporting the Printed Word

Read the Printed Word!
