Seasons Greetings

Home made holly wreathFor the first time in ages I have made my own Christmas wreath this year. I always used to make them myself but in recent years there just hasn’t seemed to be enough time. However, they really are unnecessarily expensive to buy when my garden is full of holly, ivy, and fir trees as well as many other evergreens, so it seems rather silly to spend the money. It really didn’t take me very long to do despite bleeding all over it from holly scratches, so I thought I would share the result with you. I have also made a few other ‘natural’ decorations and hope to find time to post pictures on my ‘Words on Weaving’ blog in the next day or two.

I am taking a short break as usual over Christmas but before I go I would like to wish all my readers a very happy Christmas and hope you enjoy your winter celebrations in whatever form they take. I will, of course, be back to welcome in the New Year – see you then!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. http://www.salpa58.wordpress.com
    Dec 19, 2016 @ 16:44:16

    The wreath you made is beautiful, how talented you are! It sounds like you have a winter garden, how wonderful. Thank you for the Christmas wishes and the same to you. Thank you for following my blog and I look forward to reading your offerings in 2017. :o)

    Reply

    • Libby
      Dec 20, 2016 @ 16:57:28

      Thank you Salpa. I think my garden probably looks better in the winter than it does in the summer – so many evergreens, all planted by the previous owner. It was partly due to the garden that we moved here. ‘See’ you next year! 🙂

      Reply

  2. julespaige
    Dec 19, 2016 @ 19:24:29

    May all in your family have delightful lights this season.
    And a very happy and healthy New Year.

    One year when my eldest was young I took blank postcards and drew a simple holiday shape on one side and let him color it in.

    Lovely wreath. Maybe you could use gardeners gloves next time that go up to your elbow to prevent scratches and cuts? Heal quickly! Enjoy your family time 🙂

    Reply

    • Libby
      Dec 20, 2016 @ 16:54:18

      It was when I was fixing the bits in place that I got scratched – I’m not sure I could do that in gloves. Only superficial though and almost gone. 🙂

      Reply

  3. elaine patricia
    Dec 19, 2016 @ 19:43:42

    Smashing wreath. Love and peace to you and your family. Enjoy your seasonal festivities. X x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Site content copyright of Elizabeth Leaper (Libby).

Supporting the Printed Word

Read the Printed Word!
