N+1

Last Tuesday, as I had promised in my Monday post (which you can refer back to here), I went on the Breeze ladies evening bike ride. This time I left the trusty old Raleigh MTB at home and went on my classic road-race Motobecane. What a difference a bike makes! I had no trouble keeping up at all, no mega struggles, no breathlessness. Admittedly we didn’t go quite so far as the daylight was fading fast, but we did keep up a reasonably fast pace.

This was to be the last Tuesday evening ride due to the loss of daylight. From now on the rides will be on Sunday mornings starting at 8.30 am, the first one being on 16th October, and will cover around 20 to 25 miles with a café stop. I’m not sure if I will do the Sunday rides as I usually go out for a ride on Sundays with my husband, often on the tandem, but if I can get myself up and to the meeting point in time I might go on the odd one now and then.

While out last Tuesday the ride leader mentioned that next time she would bring her winter bike. Winter bike! I thought. Do people have a special bike for winter riding? Apparently so. I had, in fact, previously considered that I didn’t want to risk spoiling my classic bike by riding it over the winter and thought I would use the old Raleigh for winter riding. This would then, I suppose, make it a winter bike, but as I have already proved, it would be no use for keeping up with the ladies if I go out with the group; there is no way I will manage to keep up on it for 20+ miles.

Now we get to where the ‘N+1’ of the title comes in. My youngest son, also a cyclist, seems to fairly frequently decide he needs another bike, (usually an MTB) whilst also seeming reluctant to sell any of his existing ones. When asked ‘How many bikes do you need?’ his answer is ‘N+1’ where N is the number you already have.

It is time to own up. I have just bought my ‘+1’ (which now constitutes part of ‘N’ I suppose). I have bought a second-hand (2-year-old) modern light-weight road bike to be my winter bike – it weighs about the same as my classic bike – so that I can keep up on longer rides and my lovely classic road-race bike can stay tucked up warm indoors. Here is the new one:

New Road Bike

The bike is a Form Longcliffe 5.0 FE. It is a ladies specific road bike produced by Forme, a relatively new manufacturer based in Derbyshire and founded in 2010. Their bikes are designed specifically for the UK roads and all-year-round UK weather conditions, which can be grim, grimy and variable! The bikes are rigorously tested in the Derbyshire Peak District and the company offers a lifetime guarantee, such is their confidence in their product.

This bike is recommended by reviewers as an ideal winter bike. We collected the bike yesterday morning and, after lowering the saddle for me, yesterday afternoon we went out on a 7-8 mile round-trip stopping for a cuppa at my eldest son’s home to show it off. The gear shifters are on the brake levers and this is taking a bit of getting used to but it was a comfortable ride. It is in need of a bit more tweaking to fit me properly and so we have now also put on a shorter handle-bar stem and adjusted the saddle slightly further forward to shorten the ‘reach’. I have yet to try it out again because it has been raining today and I don’t want to get it wet do I? I have also ordered some new toe-clip pedals for the bike, the previous owner had the sort that you clip your shoe into and I’m not sure I fancy those – though as I have the pedals for them now I might give them a go sometime in the future.

As I write my husband has the bike in bits up on the work-stand in our lounge. He is trying to fix the mudguards better as they rattle rather and he thinks some of the fixings are missing – new ones are on the way from the engineering department. For most of the year I will not use the mudguards but they are a useful addition for winter riding. Hopefully it will be all back together and I can test it properly within the next few days, weather permitting! Now I wonder what my next ‘N+1’ will be?

_______________________________________________

PS: Just another little reminder of my daughter’s cycling blog – Mad Cycling in the Midday Sun – about her cycling exploits in Spain.

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. julespaige
    Sep 26, 2016 @ 18:27:03

    Today might be a good day to take out my own bike. Cloudy and 66 F/18 C
    though it does look like rain may be on the horizon…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Site content copyright of Elizabeth Leaper (Libby).

Supporting the Printed Word

Read the Printed Word!
