Another Special Place

For one of the sessions of my monthly writer’s group, back in April, we had as a theme ‘A Special Place’ for which I wrote a poem about the small Chapel of St. Peter’s-on-the-Wall at Bradwell-on-Sea in Essex. I posted a short section of the poem and some information about the chapel here.

At the time I also had another special place in mind and it was a toss-up which one I chose to write about. Now I would like to share this other special place with you.

Pin Mill

Pin Mill (courtesy of Google Images)

Along the banks of the River Orwell, in Suffolk, a day’s sail from where we keep our boat at Bradwell Marina, there is a stretch of ancient oak woodland. We occasionally stop for a night at Wolverstone Marina or the neighbouring Royal Harwich Yacht Club (excellent food in the clubhouse!) and from there you can walk along a footpath that takes you through the oak wood to Pin Mill, with its famous Butt and Oyster public house, a mecca for sailors.

Our other small ‘trailer sailer’, an 18ft YM Senior called ‘Pau Amma’, which we keep at home, was built at the yard of Harry King and Sons at Pin Mill in the 1960’s and the yard is still there, still building boats. There are also many Thames Barges moored in the wide bay caused by a bend in the river. It is a very picturesque spot (see photo).

As I step into this wonderful oak wood (unfortunately not pictured as it is behind the photographer!) it is like stepping into another world. I am immediately struck by an overwhelming sense of peace and calm, wisdom and power. There are many magnificent trees at the peak of their power and interspersed between them are young striplings ready to provide continuity as they grow to replace their elders. There are also aged, dead and fallen trees, which have completed their natural life-cycle. Some of these lie alongside the river, bleached white like the bones of ancient skeletons. As I walk through the trees I feel my hands tingle and I am compelled to touch the trunks and the low hanging branches while I absorb the atmosphere. Even the air I breathe seems different.

Sadly I have never been able to spend as much time in this woodland as I would wish in order to commune more with the spirits of these wonderful trees. I have only ever managed fleeting visits, ambling along the footpath, touching as many of the trees as I can, which always leaves me longing for more. I am mindful of keeping my husband waiting – to him it is just a footpath through the trees, a route from here to there and back again. I keep promising myself that one day I will spend more time amongst these powerful oak trees. It is a truly special place.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Soul Gifts
    Jun 06, 2016 @ 11:29:06

    Sounds wonderful 🙂

    Reply

  2. elaine patricia
    Jun 06, 2016 @ 17:21:00

    It sure is. Sounds inviting and sacred.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Site content copyright of Elizabeth Leaper (Libby).

Supporting the Printed Word

Read the Printed Word!
