January Joy 6

Packing Christmas away, stripping the tree,
carefully wrapping each bauble,
some made by my Mum, some by me,
some gifts from absent friends;
each one holding a precious memory.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. elaine patricia
    Jan 06, 2016 @ 18:27:38

    Please remember to honour the tree before returning her to mother earth

    Reply

    • Libby
      Jan 07, 2016 @ 11:49:36

      Ah – I cheat I’m afraid, I have an artificial one. I prefer a real one but a few years ago I left it too late to buy one with roots (I refuse to buy ‘chopped off’ ones) so bought this one. Now I’ve got it I have to use it. I do actually have a real one in the garden and choose not to disturb it by digging it up each year.

      Reply

  2. julespaige
    Jan 06, 2016 @ 22:18:22

    Always better when memories are fond ones…

    Reply

  3. dragonscaleclippings
    Jan 07, 2016 @ 13:37:27

    I love the feeling of ritual in your poem…

    Reply

  4. The Weekly Day
    Jan 07, 2016 @ 14:14:23

    Ah, we are resisting taking the tree down and putting all decorations away until next year, but yes, it will happen here this weekend as well 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Site content copyright of Elizabeth Leaper (Libby).

Supporting the Printed Word

Read the Printed Word!
