On Trees

“I think that I shall never see
A billboard lovely as a tree
Perhaps unless the billboards fall
I’ll never see a tree at all.”

Ogden Nash (from ‘Song of the Open Road’)

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
Perhaps not true in my case since my garden is surrounded by and includes many trees and there is not a billboard in sight. Never-the-less there is a truth here and I do love the humour of Ogden Nash.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. julespaige
    Sep 15, 2015 @ 11:17:42

    Oh, I agree with you… too may ‘billboards’.
    Too much extra light pollution too!

    Reply

  2. dragonscaleclippings
    Sep 15, 2015 @ 11:41:30

    neat poem! it’s been really lovely to catch up here with your postings Libby!

    Reply

  3. journeyintopoetry
    Sep 15, 2015 @ 11:43:54

    This one made me smile. 😊

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Site content copyright of Elizabeth Leaper (Libby).

Supporting the Printed Word

Read the Printed Word!
