House of Dreams

Book Cover I have just finished reading this amazing book by Jenny Alexander. It is full of tips on activating your imagination by recalling your dreams and using them in your writing to help create characters, scenes and even whole plots. I shall certainly be giving it a go.

To read a full review of this book, which is available from Amazon in print or as an e-book, go to: susanpricesblog.blogspot.co.uk/2015/08/a-shamans-handbook-review.html

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. julespaige
    Aug 16, 2015 @ 00:03:35

    I have done some of that; use dream characters.
    Looks like an interesting book. Thanks.

    Reply

    • Libby
      Aug 16, 2015 @ 13:41:59

      I’m not usually good at remembering dreams so this is most helpful – a very interesting book.

      Reply

      • julespaige
        Aug 16, 2015 @ 13:50:32

        It does look interesting. Some folks like my hubby don’t remember any dreams. I’m not sure how the folks who only manage (and manage well) on only four hours of sleep. I think I read that Edison and Einstein did take ‘cat-naps’ or day dreamed often. I still remember a nightmare from over thirty years ago. Someone told me when we write dreams down we honor them. I’d spend half of my day doing that. I have details like a movie. So I attempt to see what they were related to during the day and let then let them go. I think that old nightmare might have been related to a movie but I don’t keep a dream journal.

      • Libby
        Aug 16, 2015 @ 14:00:03

        The book suggests that we don’t try to analyse them. I usually only remember nonsensical snippets, though have had nightmares in the past.

      • julespaige
        Aug 16, 2015 @ 14:11:24

        I remember one psychology class which basically said most dreams are just the stimuli we couldn’t process during the day. While a few might have prophetic dreams… I am not one.

      • Libby
        Aug 17, 2015 @ 10:57:54

        The book tries to get away from applying too much psychology to the dreams, though no doubt there is an element of truth in that and if you learn something from them all well and good. It is a book about dreaming and a book about writing, it is the stories of the dreams themselves that you consider to in order to encourage your own written work. Hard to explain – you need to read the book!

      • julespaige
        Aug 17, 2015 @ 22:20:11

        Maybe when I have a winter break from grandchildren. But then I also have to find the book first 😉
        I did write down the title and the author – hopefully I’ll remember where I put that notation.

  2. dragonscaleclippings
    Aug 21, 2015 @ 12:32:08

    will add this to my list of books to buy – it sounds brilliant!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Site content copyright of Elizabeth Leaper (Libby).

Supporting the Printed Word

Read the Printed Word!
