Fragrance

The cloying fragrance
of weeping lime trees shedding
blossom fills the street.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. journeyintopoetry
    Aug 13, 2014 @ 10:31:34

    I don’t think Ive xome across them; is it an unpleasant smell?

    Reply

  2. julespaige
    Aug 13, 2014 @ 14:06:26

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tilia_tomentosa

    I learned something new. I was wondering if it bore edible fruit. Good for honeybees though…

    Reply

    • Libby
      Aug 14, 2014 @ 12:02:15

      These trees border a neighbour’s property. I have only just found out what they are although I have smelt them every year. The pollen is narcotic to bees and I don’t think the fruit is edible.

      Reply

      • julespaige
        Aug 14, 2014 @ 12:15:30

        I did read that the nectar is only good to honey bees. and And because it is so ‘potent’ the bees often overload on it and look as if they are drunk moving slow around the base of the trees when they have had their fill.

        I’ve heard of many different weeping trees. But this is my first encounter with a weeping lime. Nature is fascinating.

Leave a Reply

Site content copyright of Elizabeth Leaper (Libby).

Supporting the Printed Word

Read the Printed Word!
