Fibo-Ku

Sun
shines
brightly,
but clouds come
drifting slowly by,
shadows fall, stretching and shrinking
like unworldly living creatures flexing their muscles.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

This is my first attempt at writing a Fibo-Ku, a form based on the mathematical Fibonacci Sequence. Each line contains the number of syllables indicated by the sequence number – i.e. 1, 1, 2, 3, 5, 8, 13. You will find a more complete explanation, with better examples at ‘Bastet and Sekhmet’s Library’ blog here, which is where I first came across the form.

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. julespaige
    Aug 04, 2014 @ 11:53:48

    Ah, I have done this before but not as it is named the Fiboku.
    Just as verse following the Fibonacci series. But since it follows syllable counts and can be short Fiboku fits. I’ll have to see if I can find the ones I did or create a new one 🙂

    A great description of a storm approaching!

    Reply

  2. Bastet
    Aug 04, 2014 @ 14:34:45

    This is nice … you should submit it to the Carpe Diem prompt too … it should still be open! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Polly
    Aug 04, 2014 @ 16:53:06

    This is a new one on me,Libby. I like the look of it. Will have a go 🙂

    Reply

  4. Mike
    Aug 05, 2014 @ 06:42:31

    Nicely worked – much enjoyed.

    Reply

  5. nickimaskelyne
    Aug 05, 2014 @ 08:34:53

    I love this, brilliant description.
    I’ve never heard of the form Fibo-Ku before.

    Reply

  6. Betty Hayes Albright
    Aug 13, 2014 @ 23:33:14

    Glad I discovered your poetry – lovely imagery!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Site content copyright of Elizabeth Leaper (Libby).

Supporting the Printed Word

Read the Printed Word!
