Deserted

The rooks have deserted the rookery.
For years the raucous birds
have nested there. Almost all
the twiggy nests blew down in winter storms;
only one remains, silent and bare.
The rooks have gone,
but where?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. elaine patricia
    May 08, 2014 @ 09:32:02

    I bet the noise is conspicuous by it’s absence.

    Reply

    • Libby
      May 08, 2014 @ 11:06:49

      It is. Actually I miss them, though a few were in my garden yesterday so they can’t have gone far. Some of the trees around the rookery have been cleared so perhaps that is what encouraged them to move home.

      Reply

  2. Ina
    May 09, 2014 @ 10:47:21

    Rooks and ravens, crows and magpies: if I don’t think about their diet, I love them! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Aquileana
    May 10, 2014 @ 14:24:44

    Beautifully penned, Libby.
    Best wishes, Aquileana 🙂

    Reply

  4. julespaige
    May 12, 2014 @ 12:17:33

    I had several nests in my porch eves for years. I wasn’t sure if it was weather or just ‘spring cleaning’ as all vanished. Even some that were being rebuilt seemed to be torn down either by competitors or the same bird? Anyway two have been built and are active. Used to have 6 or 8. I can’t figure why one remains above the door though. There are so many spaces for the nests one would think they wouldn’t want to be constantly disturbed by us opening and closing the porch door?

    I’m hoping the trees are where the nests are now. Mine are wrens or robins I think.

    Reply

  5. journalread
    May 22, 2014 @ 14:14:48

    I like the final line, that question’s important 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Site content copyright of Elizabeth Leaper (Libby).

Supporting the Printed Word

Read the Printed Word!
