Rocket Science

“All right, it was an exaggeration,” Michael admitted as he defended himself and his reputation as an amateur rocket scientist to his friend. “Yes, I cheated, I didn’t power the thing using an artichoke for fuel.” They were staring at the remains of his crashed attempt to send his daughter’s teddy bear into orbit. “But now I really do need your help to find that bear or my life won’t be worth living. I saw it floating down so at least the parachute worked, but where the devil is it?”

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

The above is today’s Random Words exercise for my Writer’s Group – to create a mini-saga using the randomly selected words: rocket, artichoke, defended, Michael, exaggeration, bear and parachute.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. journeyintopoetry
    Apr 14, 2014 @ 10:26:35

    This is so good! What a great exercise. This is what Im enjoying about being in a writing group, particularly if Im feeling blank its always a stimulus for me. And I often feel blank!! 😊

    Reply

    • Libby
      Apr 15, 2014 @ 14:09:06

      Thank you Christine. This exercise is ‘homework’ most weeks, but I don’t go every week so don’t always do it, but it is fun to see all the different little stories people come up with.

      Reply

  2. julespaige
    Apr 15, 2014 @ 17:36:29

    Oh… a word list (I am so tempted – I’ve already done two out of three that I had waiting in the wings..) And you have had wonderful success!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Site content copyright of Elizabeth Leaper (Libby).

Supporting the Printed Word

Read the Printed Word!
