Buttons

“Mums are like buttons…
they hold it all together.”

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Yesterday was Mother’s Day, or more correctly ‘Mothering Sunday’, here in the UK. This quotation comes from the card sent to me by my youngest son.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mixedupmeme
    Mar 31, 2014 @ 11:51:42

    And even when a button falls off or becomes loose, moms can do a quick repair and make everything right. πŸ™‚
    No matter how old I become, the thought of mother is very comforting.

    Reply

  2. journeyintopoetry
    Mar 31, 2014 @ 13:37:18

    Oh I love this 😊

    Reply

  3. journeyintopoetry
    Mar 31, 2014 @ 13:39:02

    PS When Im in a lot of pain I always hear myself saying “oh mum” and she has been gone 17 years. She still holds me together 😊

    Reply

  4. julespaige
    Mar 31, 2014 @ 14:41:17

    Happy Mothering Sunday…

    Ours in the States is May 11. πŸ™‚

    I like the buttons bit. I have a tin of buttons from my one grandmother…
    and now some also from my Mother-in-law’s collection.

    Reply

    • Libby
      Apr 01, 2014 @ 10:58:44

      I have tins of buttons from both Mum and Mum-in-law. Some I have passed on to my daughter for her craft-work. We used to play with the button box when we were ill as children.

      Reply

      • julespaige
        Apr 01, 2014 @ 11:21:27

        I can just imagine that if they ever have to take apart my grandmother’s home… how many buttons they’ll find in the heating grates πŸ™‚

        Wonderful memories… even if I can’t remember them clearly.

  5. Widow Beach
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 01:50:14

    I LOVE that–oh that we could all have “button mums”.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Site content copyright of Elizabeth Leaper (Libby).

Supporting the Printed Word

Read the Printed Word!
