Before the Frosts

Bringing in the garden ornaments
before the frosts begin,
finding space in the garden shed;
all are safely gathered in.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. journeyintopoetry
    Nov 13, 2013 @ 17:26:14

    “All is safely gathered in, ‘ere the winter storms begin” ! I think thats how the hymn goes! Remembering from long ago!

    Love this ๐Ÿ˜Š it evokes a feeling of warmth inside and cosiness. X

    Reply

    • Libby
      Nov 14, 2013 @ 10:06:11

      Yes, one of my mother’s favourite hymns. The first two lines are “Come ye thankful people come, raise the song of harvest home.” I should have put it in quotation marks really! The warmth and cosiness was what Mum liked, when we were all safe inside, home from school, work and so on. I though of her as I wrote it.

      Reply

      • journeyintopoetry
        Nov 14, 2013 @ 11:08:18

        Yss! Thank you for the beginning of the hymn! Ive been trying to recall it without success. ๐Ÿ˜Š It was a favourite one for our family too and my mother was at her most content when we were all safely gathered in. I felt exactly the same with all my brood too! ๐Ÿ˜Š

  2. julespaige
    Nov 14, 2013 @ 13:08:52

    Oh… I have had a few ‘not saved’ and they are sad. Though some age gracefully.
    I bet your garden is beautiful in any season.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Site content copyright of Elizabeth Leaper (Libby).

Supporting the Printed Word

Read the Printed Word!
