A Significant Find

What did they expect to find,
those archeologists digging in the abbey ruins?
Surprise, surprise, the bones of nuns
long since dead and buried.
And they call it a ‘Significant Find’.
Why can’t they let them rest in peace?

(On hearing an item in yesterday’s news)

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. julespaige
    Sep 05, 2013 @ 19:22:29

    I think they were also looking for a king, or was that somewhere else?
    Yes, let them rest…that’s what they expected.

    Reply

    • Libby
      Sep 06, 2013 @ 10:36:29

      That was somewhere else – and they believe they found him! Archeologists often seem to put two and two together and come up with 95, or some equally ridiculous number. Their speculations soon become indisputable ‘facts’ – only to be disproved some years later.

      Reply

  2. Richard Cody
    Sep 05, 2013 @ 20:40:53

    It’s not grave desecration when done in the name of “science”.

    Reply

  3. kvennarad
    Sep 18, 2013 @ 05:48:01

    I hope I’m dug up centuries after I’m buried. I hope they take me on a dance tour of Europe, arrange my bones into letters, arrange those letters into cryptic words, then re-bury me somewhere else. It ought to be fun. I hope it happens several times, so I can become Beijing Woman without trying.

    Did you know that a pianist called Tchaikovsky bequeathed his skull to the RSC so he could play Yorick?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Site content copyright of Elizabeth Leaper (Libby).

Supporting the Printed Word

Read the Printed Word!
