Laburnum Blossom

Laburnum BlossomLaburnum blossom —
I remember childhood scare,
caterpillars wriggling in my hair;
you should have heard me scream!
Now no caterpillars to be seen
and butterflies all too rare,
fear all but forgotten.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dragonscaleclippings
    Jun 05, 2013 @ 11:57:58

    I like the humour mingled with the sadness of there being so few butterflies now… love the rhythm and rhyme as well!

    Reply

    • Libby
      Jun 06, 2013 @ 09:18:40

      Thanks Freya. I still don’t like caterpillar’s – but I do love to see butterflies. Shame you can’t have one without the other!

      Reply

  2. julespaige
    Jun 09, 2013 @ 12:45:34

    I remember the old tale about the fuzzy catterpillers – I don’t remember what butterfly they turned into – but the fuzzier they were meant a harsher winter.

    I have two butterfly bushes and let milkweed grow…just to see the butterflies -sometimes a hummingbird too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Site content copyright of Elizabeth Leaper (Libby).

Supporting the Printed Word

Read the Printed Word!
