Informed Decision

Today is County Council Polling Day,
but of the candidates no information given.
How can I make an informed decision?

__________________________________________________

Today we are supposed to vote for our County Council. The only reason I know this is because I have received a Polling Card. There are very few signs up anywhere, no one has canvassed me for my vote and no one has sent me any information about who they are and what they stand for. There is a small amount of information in the local newspaper which gives me some names and a brief description, but not all the candidates even bothered with that. Those who have done only have a short paragraph which tells me nothing of importance. Some claim to have lived in my area for many years and done all sorts of good community things, but I have lived here many years too and for the most part I recognise neither reputations, names or even faces from the photographs.

I believe that, when voting for the County Council, individuals and what they stand for are more important than Party Political persuasion yet I have no information to go on. I see no reason why I should be expected to research it for myself on the Internet, I have better things to do with my time. No. If you want my vote then tell me what I need to know. It’s no wonder people in the UK have lost interest in politics and there are generally very low turn-outs for elections. How can people make informed decisions when they have no information on which to base those decisions?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Evi Schumacher
    May 03, 2013 @ 15:00:10

    Count yourself lucky your politicians are as low key as that. Here in the US we are bombarded with ads and lies for months, sometimes years before each election. Politics has turned into a savage bloodsport turning fellow countrymen and women against each other. So too much information and ads can be a really bad thing. It’s all very disheartening all the way around. Too much, too little, too much greed, not enough honesty……..sigh.Thoughtful writing though, Elizabeth, I could feel your frustration at the process of it all.

    Reply

  2. julespaige
    May 04, 2013 @ 00:06:28

    I agree with Evi. There should be a balance. Each politician should only have a limited amount – the same amount to spend on their campaigns – maybe the rest of the ‘wasted’ monies could be channeled into feeding, clothing and housing those without. Not knowing anything makes it difficult to choose who will be making choices for you.

    Reply

    • Libby
      May 04, 2013 @ 09:33:46

      One of the reasons we have so little information is I think due to the cost of producing literature and delivering it house to house, and no one wants to see money wasted, but we do need some information in order to choose between candidates – there must be other ways, such as a display in the local library or other community buildings. The outcome was interesting anyway, and gives the main parties food for thought before the next General Election for the National Government.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Site content copyright of Elizabeth Leaper (Libby).

Supporting the Printed Word

Read the Printed Word!
