A Story in 100 Words #4

Bones

DS Miranda Matthews strode along the trail, absently plucking the occasional blackberry, lost in thought. The aerial survey had been a complete masquerade. Their informant had insisted this was the location but she doubted she would find anything.

Suddenly she stopped; she had almost trodden on them. These must be the bones the man mentioned. She crouched down to take a closer look and burst out laughing.

The young PC trailing a short way behind her came up quickly. “Sarge?”

“These bones are not human, they are from a fox. Trust me, I know. My father was a game-keeper.”

______________________________________________

This is the last in my series of short short stories and represents my “own choice” topic. I confess I cheated in that it is a pared down and not entirely successful version of a longer “Random Word” exercise I wrote some time ago, wherein a sotry had to contain certain given words. Some remain in this piece, including – blackberry, aerial, masquerade, bones and fox.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. julespaige
    Apr 12, 2013 @ 16:55:45

    It is never a ‘cheat’ to rework a draft. And according to some writers everything is a draft!
    Nice.

    Reply

  2. Snakypoet (Rosemary Nissen-Wade)
    Apr 14, 2013 @ 00:24:10

    I think you’re brilliant at these things!

    Reply

  3. dragonscaleclippings
    Apr 17, 2013 @ 12:05:38

    this is my favourite out of your short stories (not that I dislike the others!) but this one really made me chuckle – I can’t write short stuff like this without spending AGES on paring down…. I am too verbose – well done you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Site content copyright of Elizabeth Leaper (Libby).

Supporting the Printed Word

Read the Printed Word!
