A Story in 100 Words #1

For the rest of this week, instead of my usual poetic observation I am posting four stories of 100 words. These were ‘homework’ for one of the Writing Groups I attend. Three of the titles were given and the fourth was an ‘own choice’. I shared these with our group at our monthly meeting yesterday. I hope you enjoy them. _________________________

The Debt Collector

“Mr. Wilson.”

Harry stirred himself; he had been dozing. He took a deep breath through the tube from the oxygen cylinder beside his bed and looked up at the dark figure framed in sunshine.

“You’ve had a long life,” the stranger continued. Harry wondered how he knew, he didn’t recognise the man and couldn’t see his face.

“Yes,” he wheezed in reply, “and a happy one, though I can’t see what business it is of yours. Who are you anyway?”

“The Debt Collector. It’s pay-back time.”

Harry closed his eyes. “Ah, Death,” he wheezed as he exhaled his last breath.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. julespaige
    Apr 09, 2013 @ 15:01:14

    I like this. I’ve been playing with 100 and 150 word stories – I even created a blog just for them.

    http://julesinflashyfiction.wordpress.com

    Reply

  2. daphnepurpus
    Apr 09, 2013 @ 17:34:38

    Nicely done!

    Reply

  3. Evi Schumacher
    Apr 09, 2013 @ 20:45:34

    Oh, I like that. Interesting challenge to be sure. You rose to the occasion. Looking forward to the rest.

    Reply

  4. purehaiku
    Apr 10, 2013 @ 12:22:48

    clever! I find it very hard to be so succinct – you have to prune so much, don’t you?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Site content copyright of Elizabeth Leaper (Libby).

Supporting the Printed Word

Read the Printed Word!
