ASBO

It is time to come clean! Many of you will have realised of course, but for those who did not, it is time to admit that my post  last Monday , “A Cause For Concern“, was an April Fool spoof (did you note the date? April 1st).

While much of the content was true; we are indeed encouraged to buy more and more different varieties of wild bird food and to feed them all the year round (and much of it is not their natural food source), there is in fact no evidence that this is causing obesity in the wild bird population.

Many of you, although possibly not those overseas, will also know that ASBO actually stands for Anti-Social Behaviour Order and these are handed out by the courts to  youths who cause a nuisance in their local neighbourhood, intended to encourage them to behave.  Unfortunately, instead of having the desired effect these tend to become a badge of honour as in:

Youth 1: ‘I’ve got an ASBO.’
Youth 2: ‘So what, I’ve got two.’
Youth 3: ‘Is that all I’ve got five….’

and so on, but that’s life! Still, I hope you enjoyed the fun.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. julespaige
    Apr 08, 2013 @ 11:30:16

    I think perhaps you knew I’d at least questioned your post by the Elfje reply of that day …:
    A Elfje Play with Libby 4.1.13

    April
    Fools Day.
    I wonder who
    will catch me out
    today.
    © Libby’s Elfjie

    Not
    I said
    Jack Sparrow
    or Jenny Wren…
    nuts.

    ©JP/davh

    Though you did write it with a convincing voice my dear! 🙂
    At least I had read ‘catch me out’ as not being outside, but being the one to be caught!

    Reply

    • Libby
      Apr 08, 2013 @ 13:52:13

      I knew you had ‘got it’ Jules and I loved your Elfje response to my April Fools Day Elfje, but I did post the link to ‘A Cause For Concern’ in a few other places and it seems, judging by comments received elsewhere, that some people did miss the joke (maybe they didn’t notice the date)!

      Reply

  2. P C Niles
    Apr 08, 2013 @ 15:35:22

    I wish I’d seen it on the date (will not miss future ones); not sure if I would have got it or not, to be honest. So well done (convincing, yes). And you make some excellent points that certainly are true.

    Reply

    • Libby
      Apr 09, 2013 @ 10:39:55

      The essence of a good ‘April Fool’ is that it should contain enough truth to be believable so I’m glad to have been, at least in part, believable!

      Reply

  3. daphnepurpus
    Apr 09, 2013 @ 00:59:08

    I totally missed it and was getting ready to discuss it with a friend who does feed birds. I was concerned so you totally fooled me, not that that is hard to do. And I didn’t know anything about ASBO either, so I’ve learned something. Thanks for the clarification. And here I’d been congratulating myself on getting through April Fool’s Day without being cause (I was home all day so that made it easier). Oh well, there is always next year. And Jules, your post now makes a lot more sense as well. Guess I’m just a bit dense. Glad to be in on it now. Better late than never.

    Reply

  4. purehaiku
    Apr 10, 2013 @ 12:23:28

    LOL! I did wonder at the time but I think the phone rang so I had to get back to work… Nice one!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Site content copyright of Elizabeth Leaper (Libby).

Supporting the Printed Word

Read the Printed Word!
