Golden Ocean

A golden ocean of oil seed rape
blooming brightly in the sun
and rippling in the breeze,
the heavy, cloying fragrance
making me itch and sneeze!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. julespaige
    May 08, 2012 @ 18:30:35

    Oh, that wouldn’t be ‘rag-weed’ by another name would it? 🙂

    Reply

    • Libby
      May 09, 2012 @ 13:19:34

      Jules, I’m not sure what rag-weed is, perhaps you could tell me! Here we have ragwort which is a pernicious and poisinous intruder weed, tall with yellow flowers of the dandelion family and the only food source for the cinnebar moth caterpillar. Oil seed rape is a plant cultivated for its seed which is used to make vegetable oil, I don’t know what plant genus it is but hope this helps with your identification.

      Reply

      • julespaige
        May 09, 2012 @ 13:34:50

        Rag-weed most likely is ragwort. I hadn’t heard of Oil seed rape. Though I do mostly use veggie oil when cooking. Other than just using Corn Oil …ah I looked I use canola oil. Not sure what a canola is. I’ll have to look that up some time too. Thanks 🙂

  2. Freya Pickard
    May 09, 2012 @ 14:35:50

    I love the twist halfway through
    the vivid description gives way to the hayfever sufferer’s complaint
    I sympathise – I’m OK with the pollen but a lot of people I know suffer your symptoms

    Reply

  3. Renee Espriu
    May 13, 2012 @ 22:44:55

    Love the ocean and everything connected with it. Nice write.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Site content copyright of Elizabeth Leaper (Libby).

Supporting the Printed Word

Read the Printed Word!
