Cascade

Purple aubrietia
cascading down the wall
like a Roman Emperor’s cloak.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. chris
    May 01, 2012 @ 15:42:06

    Lovely! A perfect simile for the rich hue of aubrieta. Hard to believe this plant of royal colour is in the lowly cabbage family.

    Reply

  2. julespaige
    May 01, 2012 @ 21:48:37

    Exceptionally regal, m’dear!
    I haven’t posted a small stone yet, but I was able to get a longer verse
    you can find that here:
    http://julesgemsandstuff.blogspot.com/2012/05/unsavory-slavery-sheep-clustered-in.html

    Reply

    • Libby
      May 02, 2012 @ 11:04:08

      Thanks Jules. I’ve looked at yours on gemsandstuff – love it. Left a comment too and was amazed it was accepted (I sometimes have trouble with Blogger/Blogspot though Blogspot is slightly more reliable).

      Reply

  3. tmhHoover
    May 02, 2012 @ 13:02:39

    OOOOoooo this sounds lovely- I will need to find out if I can find it here in Virginia!

    Reply

  4. tmhHoover
    May 02, 2012 @ 13:12:46

    Now this is really funny… I have some blooming in my garden – just outside my kitchen window. Now I now its name!

    Reply

  5. Freya Pickard
    May 11, 2012 @ 11:57:25

    oh yes! I like that analogy – purple Emperor’s cloak
    my aubretia’s looking tired, perhaps I need to cut it back once the flowers have gone

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Site content copyright of Elizabeth Leaper (Libby).

Supporting the Printed Word

Read the Printed Word!
