Kestrel

Surprised,
our eyes meet, we freeze.
It’s early dusk and on the lawn
a kestrel tears at carrion.
Oh so slowly I retreat
but the spell is broken.
He takes to the skies.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. azcanyonwren
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 12:42:56

    You were fortunate to see this, but you captured the scene perfectly here in your poem.

    Reply

    • Libby
      Apr 30, 2012 @ 20:21:49

      I was amazed, I never seen such a bird land in the garden before although they are often seen flying around overhead – I live on the edge of open countryside.

      Reply

  2. julespaige
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 21:32:26

    I saw this similar scene in my neighbors yard a few years back with a Red Tail Hawk – I was just amazed at the thickness of his strong legs. Up close, with the help of binoculars that is they seemed as thick as a small glass cola bottle!

    Reply

  3. chris
    May 01, 2012 @ 15:44:16

    I had a similar moment this morning, with a robin at his worm, but I’ve never met a kestrel up close. How lucky. Thanks for sharing the moment.

    Reply

    • Libby
      May 02, 2012 @ 10:55:37

      It was truely amazing. I wished I could have seen it more clearly in the half-light, and of course I didn’t have a camara to hand as I had just stepped outside totally unaware, but it was only about a dozen or so yards away – briefly!

      Reply

  4. Freya Pickard
    May 11, 2012 @ 11:59:13

    Amazing to be so close…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Site content copyright of Elizabeth Leaper (Libby).

Supporting the Printed Word

Read the Printed Word!
