Tanka

Cold crept into the house
and into my heart
after you had gone
through the window
the sun did not shine.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

This is my first attempt at the Tanka form (or should I say free-form!). It was inspired by the spell of cold weather we have had after a glorious week that was more like summer and also by my husband’s absence for a few days just as the weather changed (he will be back so it isn’t as tragic as it sounds!). Today the sun has returned but it is not as warm as last week.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Richard Cody
    Apr 01, 2012 @ 16:50:56

    Have fun with the tanka!

    Reply

  2. julespaige
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 00:03:37

    haiku, tanka and renga are fun to work with. It is fun to learn new forms.
    Glad it is only a temporary absence. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Freya Pickard
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 11:09:00

    Chilling and poignant

    Reply

  4. tmhHoover
    Apr 03, 2012 @ 19:19:21

    I am unschooled in these forms, but I can say you captured the chill of departure! I am so hopeful that someday I will learn about all these forms.

    Reply

    • Libby
      Apr 04, 2012 @ 10:10:57

      Thanks Teri, although I have played with Haiku for some time many of the others I am only just learning – and am enjoying the process!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Site content copyright of Elizabeth Leaper (Libby).

Supporting the Printed Word

Read the Printed Word!
