The Old Songs

The Old Songs

Where are the old songs now,
where are they?
Gone, long gone are the singers of songs.
Who will sing of the salmon
that leaps in the clear waters?
Who will sing of the hawk on the wing?
Who will remember the heroes of old
and sing to us of their great deeds?

In the dark days of our being
our souls cry out to the four winds,
yearn for the songs of our dreaming.
Yet the singers are with us no more,
the songs have faded to whispers and echoes
that drift away on the river of time.
Who will sing the old songs now,
who will sing them?

Elizabeth Leaper
from ‘Collecting Cobwebs, Gathering Brambles’

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

This is the last of the poems that I will be posting from my book ‘Collecting Cobwebs, Gathering Brambles’, tomorrow I return to my ‘small stones’. Please remember that the poems featured on this blog are copyright and should not be used in any way without permission and correct acknowledgement of authorship.

All this week I have featured poems from the book to accompany my Blog Tour at Freya Pickard’s Blog, ‘Dragonscale Clippings’. To be in with a chance of winning a copy of ‘Collecting Cobwebs, Gathering Brambles’ visit Freya’s blog here. You have until midnight on 6th April 2012 to leave a comment on day five of my blog tour

For further information about ‘Collecting Cobwebs, Gathering Brambles’ or my earlier book ‘Barking At Nothing’ go to ‘My Books’ page here. To buy the books please visit my website here where you can order direct via PayPal (no account needed).

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JulesPaige
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 16:00:35

    Reply

  2. Freya Pickard
    Mar 25, 2012 @ 15:25:22

    I think this is definitely my favourite poem!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Site content copyright of Elizabeth Leaper (Libby).

Supporting the Printed Word

Read the Printed Word!
