Cormorants

Cormorants

On posts and withies along the strand
cormorants stand
with wings hung out to dry.
A splendid tribute to those noble eagles,
standards of the Roman Legions
who in days gone by
bestrode this land.

Yet this is not what I see
in my mind’s eye. No, I recall
the moment when looking to the sky
I saw an owl frozen in time,
trapped between to electric lines
when wings were flapped
on coming in to perch, or perhaps
when taking off again to catch
some small prey.

So ingloriously he hung there,
as if hung out to dry.

Elizabeth Leaper
from ‘Collecting Cobwebs, Gathering Brambles’

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

The fourth poem this week is one of mine from my book ‘Collecting Cobwebs, Gathering Brambles’. May I remind you that the poems are copyright and should not be reproduced without permission or correct acknowledgement of authorship.

Don’t forget to visit Freya Pickard’s Blog, ‘Dragonscale Clippings’ where I will be guesting all week. You will find it here. I hope that the poems this week will supplement the interviews on Freya’s blog. Don’t forget that there will also be a chance to win a copy of the book if you visit Dragonscale Clippings.

For further information about ‘Collecting Cobwebs, Gathering Brambles’ or my earlier book ‘Barking At Nothing’ go to ‘My Books’ page here. To buy the books please visit my website here when you can order direct via PayPal (no account needed).

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. linesofcommunication
    Mar 22, 2012 @ 12:31:08

    I like the connection between cormorants and Roman Legion eagles.

    Reply

  2. Freya Pickard
    Mar 22, 2012 @ 13:01:19

    I like the imagery in this one…

    Reply

  3. JulesPaige
    Mar 22, 2012 @ 20:46:08

    I hope the owl was freed. There was an animated film out staring owls… I didn’t get to see it yet.

    Reply

    • Libby
      Mar 23, 2012 @ 12:31:41

      Unfortunately Jules the owl was dead, electrocuted instantly by the fact that he linked the two power lines together. I didn’t see it happen just saw him hanging there.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Site content copyright of Elizabeth Leaper (Libby).

Supporting the Printed Word

Read the Printed Word!
